Resolution J1608-2013

Congratulating the 2013 New York State Senate Women of Distinction



  • May 7, 2013: ADOPTED
  • May 1, 2013: REFERRED TO FINANCE


LEGISLATIVE  RESOLUTION  congratulating  the  2013 New York State Senate
Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative  Body  to  acknowledge  and
celebrate  Women  of  Distinction  who significantly add inspiration and
encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and
  WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of  Distinction  program  was
created  in  1998  as  part  of our state celebration of Women's History
Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular
professional or personal  achievements,  commitment  to  excellence  and
accomplishments  merit  special  recognition; honorees are selected from
nominations submitted from across the state; and
  WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have
made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects  of
society; and
  WHEREAS,  It  is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to
individuals of remarkable  character,  who  have  shown  initiative  and
commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves as well as
acting as role models to all women in their community; and
  WHEREAS,  On behalf of the New York State Senate, I take this opportu-
nity to congratulate  Karen  Acompora,  Hazra  Joanne  Ali,  Wanda  Beck
Antosh,  Kwayera  Archer-Cunningham,  Judy  Baron, Donna L. Benson, Kate
Bialo, Lea Bishop, Sister Debbie Blow, Dr. Kari W. Bovenzi, Erica  Boyn-
ton,  Beth A.   Broadway, Rosalie M. Burgher, Evelyn Cardona, Palmira M.
Cataliotti, Mary Chisholm,  Honorable  Bernadette  T.  Clark,  Josephine
Collins,  Mildred  Collins, Renate D'Angelis, Randi Shubin Dresner, Leah
Dunaief, Dr.  Saadia J. Fersobe, Meredith Festa, Jacqueline Gordon, Sara
Horowitz, Julissa Juarbe, Ellie Kastel, Nancy  Kronen,  Ginger  Lindner,
Jennifer  Mackie,  Shannon Mancuso-Getzel, Karen O'Hara, Theresa Pirrag-
lia, Francie Potter, Mary Alice Price, Vienna Profeta, Ingrid  M.  Rich-
ards,  Rhonda  Lyn  Roethal,  Taryn  Sacramone, Jackie Schmid, Mary Jane
Smith, Beverly Stamp, Susan Steinberg, Elaine E.   Stillwell, Denise  C.
Soares,  Sofie Somoroff, Emmlynn L. Taylor, Mary Jo Thorn, Grace Tillin-
ghast, Karen Torrone, Tiphaine Tsang, Marcia Tuohey,  Marie  Valachovic,
Estela  Vazquez,  Isabel  E.  Villar,  Elaine  M. Walsh, Nozomi Hirayama
Williams,  Leslie  Zemsky  as  2013  New  York  State  Senate  Women  of
Distinction,  to  be  celebrated  on Tuesday, May 7, 2013, at the Annual
Women of Distinction Awards Ceremony in  The  Well  of  the  Legislative
Office Building; and
  WHEREAS,  Women  have  become  part  of New York's lasting heritage by
fighting against stereotypes, prejudice,  and  seemingly  insurmountable
obstacles; and
  WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to
the  present  day, women have played and continue to play a crucial role
in adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity  and
quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and
  WHEREAS,  New  York  State  has been, and continues to be, the home to
many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers
in their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them  to
succeed; and
  WHEREAS,  This  Legislative Body recognizes that New York State is the
home to countless women who are strong and colorful  threads,  vital  to
the  fabric  of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and continue to
add to the advancement of our  culture  through  their  traditional  and
non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it
  RESOLVED,  It  is  the  sense  of this Legislative Body that those who
enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown  a

long  and  sustained  commitment to excellence certainly have earned the
recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State;
and be it further
  RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.


blog comments powered by Disqus