Resolution J3908-2013

Commemorating the induction of three new inductees into the New York State Senate's Historical Women of Distinction 2014 exhibit



  • Mar 11, 2014: ADOPTED
  • Mar 7, 2014: REFERRED TO FINANCE


LEGISLATIVE  RESOLUTION  commemorating the induction of three new induc-
tees into the New York State Senate's Historical  Women  of  Distinction
2014 exhibit

WHEREAS,  It  is  the  sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and
celebrate individuals and events  of  historic  significance  which  add
vitality,  sensitivity,  understanding  and inspiration to the diversity
and value of the people of this great Empire State; and
  WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have
made significant contributions  that  are  reflected  in  our  cultural,
social,   educational,  industrial  and  economic  diversity,  and  have
contributed in many ways, including as writers,  educators,  scientists,
heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertain-
ers, businesswomen, military personnel, aviators, entrepreneurs, philan-
thropists,  health  professionals, engineers, religious leaders, judges,
lawyers, law enforcement personnel, athletes, mothers, nurturers and the
building blocks of our communities; and
  WHEREAS, It is the purpose of this Legislative Body  to  induct  three
new honorees for the year 2014: photographer Alice Austen (1866-1952) of
Staten  Island;  activist and Congresswoman Shirley Chisholm (1924-2005)
of Brooklyn; and American Saint and health care pioneer Mother  Marianne
Cope (1838-1918) of Utica and Syracuse; and
  WHEREAS,  Women who have become part of New York's lasting heritage by
fighting against stereotypes,  prejudice  and  seemingly  insurmountable
obstacles,  include:    Sojourner  Truth  (1797-1883),  former slave and
famous activist; Harriet Tubman (1820-1913), best-known  "conductor"  of
the  Underground  Railroad  and  promoter of black education and women's
rights; suffragettes Susan B. Anthony  (1820-1906)  and  Elizabeth  Cady
Stanton   (1815-1902);   world   renowned   folk  artist  Grandma  Moses
(1860-1961); famed reporter  Nellie  Bly  (1867-1922);  Sybil  Ludington
(1761-1839),  known  as  the  "female  Paul  Revere"; Barbara McClintock
(1901-1992), Nobel Prize-winning genetic scientist; and "First  Lady  of
the World," Eleanor Roosevelt (1884-1962); and
  WHEREAS,  New  York  State  has been, and continues to be, the home to
many distinguished women who have made their  mark  in  history  as  the
first  in  their  field to succeed; representative of these "firsts" are
contributions by women such as: Lady Deborah  Moody  (1586-1659),  first
woman  grantee  for land ownership in the New World; Elizabeth Blackwell
(1821-1910), first female physician; America's first trained nurse Linda
Richards (1841-1930); Emma Willard (1787-1870),  founder  of  the  first
endowed  institution  of  education for women; hairdressing entrepreneur
Madam C.J. Walker (1867-1919), Harlem leader and first self-made  female
millionaire   in   the   U.S.;   Buffalonian  Louise  Blanchard  Bethune
(1856-1913), first professional female architect in the Nation;  Lucille
Ball  (1911-1989),  actor and president of Desilu Productions, the first
woman to lead a major Hollywood  production  company;  Katharine  Bement
Davis (1860-1935), New York City Correction Commissioner, first woman to
head  a  major  City  agency; Winifred Edgerton Merrill (1862-1951), the
first American woman to receive a Ph.D. in Mathematics; Dr. Mary Edwards
Walker (1832-1919), the first and only woman to be  presented  with  the
Congressional  Medal of Honor; and Belva Lockwood (1830-1917), the first
woman to practice law before the United States Supreme Court; and
  WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State  is  the
home  to  countless  women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to
the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and  continue  to
add  to  the  advancement  of  our culture through their traditional and
non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

  RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause  in  its  deliberations  to
commemorate the induction of three new inductees into the New York State
Senate's Historical Women of Distinction 2014 exhibit; and be it further
  RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted  to  the  National  Women's  Hall of Fame and the New York State
Division for Women.


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.


blog comments powered by Disqus