Resolution J4904-2013

Congratulating the 2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction



  • May 13, 2014: ADOPTED
  • May 8, 2014: REFERRED TO FINANCE


LEGISLATIVE  RESOLUTION  congratulating  the  2014 New York State Senate
Women of Distinction

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative  Body  to  acknowledge  and
celebrate  Women  of  Distinction  who significantly add inspiration and
encouragement to the people of this great Empire State; and
  WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Women of  Distinction  program  was
created  in  1998  as  part  of our state celebration of Women's History
Month to honor exemplary women from across New York State whose singular
professional or personal  achievements,  commitment  to  excellence  and
accomplishments  merit  special  recognition; honorees are selected from
nominations submitted from across the state; and
  WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have
made significant contributions that are reflected across all aspects  of
society; and
  WHEREAS,  It  is the custom of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to
individuals of remarkable  character,  who  have  shown  initiative  and
commitment in constantly pursuing higher goals for themselves as well as
acting as role models to all women in their community; and
  WHEREAS, The New York State Senate takes this opportunity to congratu-
late  Gail  Adamoschek, Seema Agnani, Patricia Aitken, Jessica A. Allen,
Gloria Alston, Sister Marie Antoinette, Jane Backus, Mary Alice  Bellar-
dini,  Marissa  Bernowitz,  Deanna Alterio Brennan, Susan K. Brown, PhD,
Danielle Butin, Dorothy Button, Anna Cali,  Fortuna  Calvo-Roth,  Bettye
Canestaro,  Andrea Curran, Lakia T. Echols, Georgina Falu, PhD, Kristine
B. Giotto, Constance Glasgow, MD, Carin Guarasci,  Adjoa  Esinam  Gzifa,
Alyce  Ingram,  Indu  Jaiswal,  Diane  Kuppermann,  Sung  Eun  Grace Lee
(posthumously), Helene S. Leonardi, Cindy  Abbott  Letro,  Debra  Liegl,
Michelle  McClymont,  Sheila  Meegan,  Julie  Menin, Hazel Miura, Judith
O'Rourke, Elizabeth R. OuYang, Filomena  Piscitelli,  The  Honorable  A.
Gail Prudenti, Josephine Pucci, Marisa Redanty, Theresa M.  Reichel, Lee
Roberts,  Beatrice  Ruberto, Meghan Izzo Russo, Mary Anne Sears, Shirley
Seney, Esmeralda Simmons, Pat Singer, Margaret  Skinner,  Luader  Smith,
Lauren  R.  Snyder,  Geri Spino, Barbara Sush, Alana Sweeny, Irma Waldo,
MD, Rose Marie Walker, Mary Whittier, Patricia Williams,  Judy  Zangwill
as  2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction, to be celebrated on
Tuesday, May 13, 2014, at the Annual Women of Distinction Awards Ceremo-
ny in The Well of the Legislative Office Building; and
  WHEREAS, Women have become part of  New  York's  lasting  heritage  by
fighting  against  stereotypes,  prejudice, and seemingly insurmountable
obstacles; and
  WHEREAS, From the women's suffrage movement just over 150 years ago to
the present day, women have played and continue to play a  crucial  role
in  adding strength, understanding, and inspiration to the diversity and
quality of life of the people of the State of New York; and
  WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to  be,  the  home  to
many distinguished women who have made their mark in history as pioneers
in  their field, therefore laying the foundation for women after them to
succeed; and
  WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State  is  the
home  to  countless  women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to
the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and  continue  to
add  to  the  advancement  of  our culture through their traditional and
non-traditional roles in society; and
  WHEREAS, It is the sense of  this  Legislative  Body  that  those  who
enhance  the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a
long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly  have  earned  the

recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State;
now, therefore, be it
  RESOLVED,  That  this  Legislative  Body pause in its deliberations to
congratulate the 2014 New York State Senate Women of Distinction; and be
it further
  RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted to the aforementioned Women of Distinction.


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.


blog comments powered by Disqus