Resolution J844-2013

Commemorating the induction of three new inductees into the New York State Senate's Historical Women of Distinction 2013 exhibit



  • Mar 14, 2013: ADOPTED
  • Mar 12, 2013: REFERRED TO FINANCE


LEGISLATIVE  RESOLUTION  commemorating the induction of three new induc-
tees into the New York State Senate's Historical  Women  of  Distinction
2013 exhibit

WHEREAS,  It  is  the  sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge and
celebrate individuals and events  of  historic  significance  which  add
vitality,  sensitivity,  understanding  and inspiration to the diversity
and value of the people of this great Empire State; and
  WHEREAS, Women of every economic, ethnic and religious background have
made significant contributions  that  are  reflected  in  our  cultural,
social,   educational,  industrial  and  economic  diversity,  and  have
contributed in many ways, including as writers,  educators,  scientists,
heads of state, politicians, civil rights crusaders, artists, entertain-
ers, businesswomen, military personnel, aviators, entrepreneurs, philan-
thropists,  health  professionals, engineers, religious leaders, judges,
lawyers, law enforcement personnel, athletes, mothers, nurturers and the
building blocks of our communities; and
  WHEREAS, It is the purpose of this Legislative Body  to  induct  three
new  honorees  for  the year 2013: author, poet and teacher Emma Lazarus
(1849-1887) of New  York  City;  activist  and  lecturer,  Mary  Burnett
Talbert (1866-1923) of Buffalo and First Lady Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis
(1929-1994) of Long Island; and
  WHEREAS,  Women who have become part of New York's lasting heritage by
fighting against stereotypes,  prejudice  and  seemingly  insurmountable
obstacles,  include Sojourner Truth (1797-1883), former slave and famous
activist; Harriet Tubman  (1820-1913),  best-known  "conductor"  of  the
Underground Railroad and promoter of black education and women's rights;
suffragettes  Susan  B.  Anthony  (1820-1906) and Elizabeth Cady Stanton
(1815-1902); world renowned folk artist Grandma Moses (1860-1961); famed
reporter Nellie Bly (1867-1922); Sybil Ludington (1761-1839),  known  as
the  "female  Paul Revere"; Barbara McClintock (1901-1992), Nobel Prize-
winning genetic scientist; and "First Lady of the World," Eleanor Roose-
velt (1884-1962); and
  WHEREAS, New York State has been, and continues to  be,  the  home  to
many  distinguished  women  who  have  made their mark in history as the
first in their field to succeed; representative of  these  "firsts"  are
contributions  by  women  such as: Lady Deborah Moody (1586-1659), first
woman grantee for land ownership in the New World;  Elizabeth  Blackwell
(1821-1910), first female physician; America's first trained nurse Linda
Richards  (1841-1930),  Emma  Willard  (1787-1870), founder of the first
endowed institution of education for  women;  hairdressing  entrepreneur
Madam C.J.  Walker (1867-1919), Harlem leader and first self-made female
millionaire   in   the   U.S.;   Buffalonian  Louise  Blanchard  Bethune
(1856-1913), first professional female architect in the Nation;  Lucille
Ball  (1911-1989),  actor and president of Desilu Productions, the first
woman to lead a major Hollywood  production  company;  Katharine  Bement
Davis (1860-1935), New York City Correction Commissioner, first woman to
head  a  major  City  agency; Winifred Edgerton Merrill (1862-1951), the
first American woman to receive a Ph.D. in Mathematics; Dr. Mary Edwards
Walker (1832-1919), the first and only woman to be  presented  with  the
Congressional  Medal of Honor; and Belva Lockwood (1830-1917), the first
woman to practice law before the United States Supreme Court; and
  WHEREAS, This Legislative Body recognizes that New York State  is  the
home  to  countless  women who are strong and colorful threads, vital to
the fabric of our rich heritage, who have contributed, and  continue  to
add  to  the  advancement  of  our culture through their traditional and
non-traditional roles in society; now, therefore, be it

  RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause  in  its  deliberations  to
commemorate the induction of three new inductees into the New York State
Senate's Historical Women of Distinction 2013 exhibit; and be it further
  RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-
smitted  to  the  National  Women's  Hall of Fame and the New York State
Division for Women.


Open Legislation comments facilitate discussion of New York State legislation. All comments are subject to moderation. Comments deemed off-topic, commercial, campaign-related, self-promotional; or that contain profanity or hate speech; or that link to sites outside of the domain are not permitted, and will not be published. Comment moderation is generally performed Monday through Friday.

By contributing or voting you agree to the Terms of Participation and verify you are over 13.


blog comments powered by Disqus