2011-J5213

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commemorating the 35th Anniversary of the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival to be held June 30-July 1, 2012, and memorializing Governor Andrew M. Cuomo to proclaim June 2012, as Jazz Month in the State of New York

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those musical organizations that have brought entertainment and cultural enrichment to the citizens of the great State of New York; and WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commemorate the 35th Anniversary of the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival to be held at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center (SPAC) June 30-July 1, 2012, and to memorialize Governor Andrew M. Cuomo to proclaim June 2012, as Jazz Month in the State of New York; and WHEREAS, The Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival is one of the most

WHEREAS, The Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival is one of the most celebrated and longest-running jazz events in the world; a sea of colorful tents and umbrellas is a signature of this event, as people celebrate, picnic, relax and enjoy exhilarating, live music; and WHEREAS, This year's dynamic lineup consists of more than 20 acclaimed artists and ensembles on two stages; the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival headliners include Diana Krall, Chris Botti, Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue, Esperanza Spalding "Radio Music Society," Hiromi Trio Project, Yellowjackets, and Maceo Parker, among others; and WHEREAS, The Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival was founded in 1978 by jazz impresario George Wein, often referred to as the "father" of modern music festivals; and

WHEREAS, Jazz is an original American art form, developed in the early 20th Century and now reaching all corners of the world; over the past 35 years, more than half a million fans have attended this renowned jazz festival; and

WHEREAS, Since 1978, the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival has featured a Who's Who of music greats including Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins, Dave Brubeck, Tito Puente, Joshua Redman, Herbie Hancock, Ray Charles, Dizzy Gillespie, Lionel Hampton, Chick Corea, Diana Krall and

Chris Botti; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival is produced by Danny Melnick, the President of Absolutely Live Entertainment; and WHEREAS, Freihofer's Baking Company, the Jazz Festival's Title Sponsor since 1998, has been integral to the success of this celebrated jazz showcase, providing partnership and support which has enabled SPAC to consistently book and present the greatest jazz artists and ensembles in the world; and

WHEREAS, Artistic and cultural activities help people to lift their minds away from their daily routines and live a fuller life through their appreciation of creativity; and the creative energy of the arts can translate into increased employment opportunities and the stimulation of community and regional businesses and economic activity; and WHEREAS, A true asset to society, the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival's distinguished record merits the recognition and respectful tribute of this Legislative Body; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 35th Anniversary of the Freihofer's Saratoga Jazz Festival to be held at the Saratoga Performing Arts Center June 30-July 1, 2012, and to memorialize Governor Andrew M. Cuomo to proclaim June 2012, as Jazz Month in the State of New York; and be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to The Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, Governor of the State of New

York, and Marcia White, President and Executive Director, Saratoga Performing Arts Center.