2013-J119

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 Atlantic League Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to pay tribute to those exemplary athletes who excel in athletics, distinguishing themselves through notable achievements and representing the great Empire State with pride and determination; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 Atlantic League Championship; and

WHEREAS, Ably led by Manager Kevin Baez, the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team are the Atlantic League Champions; playing in the fifth game of a series tied at two games, the Ducks defeated the Lancaster Barnstormers by a score of 5-4 on Sunday, October 7, 2012, winning their second title in the franchise's 13-year history; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, and of honor, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Manager Kevin Baez and these outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team; its members: Chris Hayes, John Brownell, Eric Niesen, Bobby Blevins, Jared Lansford, Jeremy Hill, Jino Gonzalez, Nick DeBarr, Josh Lansford, Matt Way, Bob Zimmermann, Leo Rosales, Connor Graham, Josh Johnson, Mitch Canham, Shawn Williams, Dan Lyons, Ray Navarrete, Bryant Nelson, Brandon Sing, Timo Perez, Joash Brodin, Kraig Binick, Lee Cruz, and Matt Esquivel; Manager

Kevin Baez and Assistant Coaches Bud Harrelson, Steve Foucault, Jay Loviglio, and Jamie Quinn, along with Founder and CEO Frank Boulton, Owners Seth Waugh and Bud Harrelson, and President and General Manager Michael Pfaff as well as the entire Long Island Ducks administrative staff on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Long Island Ducks Baseball Team and to the aforementioned staff.