2013-J285

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the West Genesee Marching Band upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 New York State Field Band Championship

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend those organizations of distinguished purpose that have been committed to the pursuit of excellence and that bring great pride to the citizens of New York State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to hereby honor and recognize the West Genesee Marching Band upon the occasion of winning the 2012 New York State Field Band Competition Championship; and WHEREAS, The West Genesee Marching Band secured its 32nd Governor's Cup, a remarkable accomplishment, with a first place finish in the National Class of the 2012 New York State Field Band Conference Competition; and

WHEREAS, No marching band can succeed without outstanding talent throughout its entire roster; such was the case for the West Genesee Marching Band whose members include: Shawn Davern, Jillian Breault, Elizabeth Hammond, Cady Martin, Megan Petty, Julia Herron, Allison Nave, Michela Kahsay, Jordan Koster, Mackenzie Nish, Sarah O'Neil, Alexandria Ptak, Jenna Cunningham, Logan McGuire, Lauren Salansky, Erin Dowler, Toria Jernigan, Meghan Miller, Jillian Taylor, Alex Cerchia, Makayla Fox, Madison Seamon, Claire Wenner, Lauren Reilly, Michael Dufresne, Aidan Tracy, Mike Waters; Amanda De Sellems, Raymond Gillis, Megan Kiggins, Sarah Devlin, Jackie Peterson, Claire Thomas, Sydney Bleecker, Mackenzie Gross, Paul Neri, Nick Piato, Ryan Andrews; Chris Colbert, Vince McCauley, Steven Munger, Harry Rein, Billy Viau, David Arends, Connor Davie, Drew Loustanau, Steven Mirabito, Will Musengo; Allison Sandefur, Brad Till, Tim Vallee, Chris Waters, Ben Wilson, Annika Bergquist, Brian Fraser, Andrew Klaczko, Stefania Marzynski, James Soper, Lisa Morabito, Caroline Spang, Ellen Smith; Matt Davern, Natalie Pillion, Laura Zwerger, Ryan Fitzpatrick, Alec Macaluso, Nick Mulpagano, Ben Myers, Michael Calascibetta, Ian Hart, Jeff Hotaling, Jon Kennedy; Rob Michel, Bret Whaley, Megan MacLachlan, Nick Ross, Mark Boisseau,

John Buttner, Colin McCrea, Claire Michel, Erik Whalan, Jack Boulerice, Peter Jolevski, Jonathon Ramsden, Louie Jolevski, Ian Potash, Joe Zollo, Andrew Marotta, Roberto Ramos-Brito, Nick Bentley, Frank Bufano, Ryan Cutler, Andrew Nave, Michael Pitzeruse, Ben Widrick, Alex Williams, Jake Wojcik, James Ziobrowski, Luke Alberts, Sydney Baratta, Michael Klaczko, Lexie White, Dan Corcoran, Celine Kristoff, Max Neimeier, PK White, Dana Marie Kellog-Shafer, James Krisher, Jessica Mason, Rachel Munnett, Alyssa Purdy, Emily Rahrle, Hannah Savage, Nathan Grome, Dana Langevin, Corey McCrea, Jessica Birchler, Erica Cerchia, Anna Fortais, Devyn Ottman, Katherine Widrick, Timothy Gardner II, Jessy Boyce, Morgan Gaffney, Allie Gettino, Amanda Jock, Camille Pensabene, Emma Ryan, Rosie Sovocool, Chandrea Brown, Christine Campbell, Sara Capucilli, Samantha Cherry, Rachael Elsey, Deirdre Garrison, Delaney O'Neil, Michaela Anderson, Monica Andrews, Christianna Braun, Caitlin Davie, Taylor Del Moral, Joie-Iyn Fox, Anna Fredette, Alex Goldych, Morgan LaVallee, Diana Pugh, Becca Purdy, Jenna Rahrle, Haley Richardson, Kayla Smith, Liz Stanistreet, Meghan Vallee, Karen Awayda, Caitlyn Deaver, Jenna Hickey, Marisa Hurst, Adrianne Milea, Caroline Pedrotti, Isabelle Tracy, and Haley Winks; and

WHEREAS, The success of the West Genesee Marching Band is due in great part to the dedicated efforts of Band Director Michael Stachnik, and his outstanding staff, as well as the constant encouragement and support of family and community members; and

WHEREAS, The successful overall history of the West Genesee Marching Band is impressive; the Marching Band has logged more than 30 state championships, earned a number of national tournament honors and performed in several NFL games; and

WHEREAS, The West Genesee Marching Band shared noteworthy attributes on and off the field, as well as in competition; individually and collectively, band members exhibited discipline, hard work, and good sportsmanship, demonstrating to themselves and to others that they have an enviable combination of talent and character, which has reflected favorably upon their school and on their community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the West Genesee Marching Band upon the occasion of capturing the 2012 New York State Field Band Competition Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to members of the West Genesee Marching Band and Band Director Michael Stachnik.