### 2015 Annual Report New York State Senate Judiciary Committee



Senator John J. Bonacic, Chairman

Senator Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Ranking Minority Member

#### January 4, 2015

Senator John Flanagan President Pro Tempore New York State Senate Room 330 Capitol Albany, New York 12247

#### Dear Senator Flanagan:

As Chairman of the New York State Senate Judiciary Committee, I am pleased to present to you the Committee's 2015 Annual Report.

The attached report details the New York State Senate Judiciary Committee's activities over the past year. I would like to thank the Ranking Minority Member, Senator Ruth Hassell-Thompson, for her hard work and attentiveness to this committee. I would also like to thank the members of the committee for their participation and commitment.

I look forward to working with the members of the New York State Senate Judiciary Committee to ensure that we continue to move in a positive, productive direction in 2016.

Sincerely.

JOHN J. BONACIC

State Senator

#### **Committee Members**

Senator John J. Bonacic, Chairman Senator Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Ranking Minority Member

> Senator George A. Amedore Senator Tony Avella Senator Neil D. Breslin Senator Leroy Comrie Senator Thomas D. Croci Senator John A. DeFrancisco Senator Ruben Diaz Senator Martin Malavé Dilan Senator Adriano Espaillat Senator Kemp Hannon Senator Brad Hoylman Senator Andrew J. Lanza Senator Kenneth P. LaValle Senator Michael F. Nozzolio Senator Thomas F. O'Mara Senator Bill Perkins Senator Michael H. Ranzenhofer Senator Diane J. Savino Senator Susan J. Serino Senator Daniel Squadron Senator Toby Ann Stavisky Senator Michael Venditto

### **Committee Staff**

Jessica Cherry, Counsel David Gruenberg, Majority Counsel Deirdre Barthel, Committee Clerk

#### **Judiciary Budget for State Fiscal Year 2015-2016**

The Legislature adopted a Unified Court System Budget increase to \$1.85 billion. This reflects an increase of \$36.3 million. The overall Judiciary budget increase was 2%.

### **Summary of Judiciary Committee Action on Bills**

Total bills referred to Committee in 2015	261
Total bills reported by Committee in 2015	29
Total number of bills reported by Committee that passed the Senate	24
Total number of bills reported by Committee that became law in 2015	11
Total number of bills reported by Committee that were vetoed in 2015	0

#### Bills Reported by Judiciary Committee that were Enacted Into Law in 2015

- 1. Chapter 361 of the Laws of 2015 S.2152 Kennedy/A.2026 Ryan Relates to waivers for families of victims of terrorist attacks.
- 2. Chapter 257 of the Laws of 2015 S.3139A Croci/A.6212A Murray Relates to the village of Mastic Beach entering into contracts to sell delinquent tax liens.
- 3. Chapter 572 of the Laws of 2015 S.4845 Bonacic/A.6264 Simotas Provides time frames within which service by mailing must be made both within and without the state.
- 4. Chapter 438 of the Laws of 2015 S.5160 Bonacic/A.6024A Weinstein Establishes the time periods for the payment of legacies to genetic children of the decedent without the accrual of interest.
- 5. Chapter 529 of the Laws of 2015 S.5188 Bonacic/A.6265 Kaminsky Relates to the use of expert affidavits in summary judgment motions.
- 6. Chapter 447 of the Laws of 2015 S.5190 Bonacic/A.7221 Weinstein Relates to counsel fees and expenses in matrimonial actions.
- 7. Chapter 441 of the Laws of 2015 S.5191 Bonacic/A.6263 Braunstein Relates to a trustee's authority to recant the invasion of a trust and provides that within certain time frames a trustee may revoke the exercise of the power to invade a new trust.
- 8. Chapter 269 of the Laws of 2015 S.5678 Bonacic/A.7645 Weinstein Relates to the duration and amount of maintenance and of spousal support.
- 9. Chapter 347 of the Laws of 2015 S.5685B Bonacic/A.7636B Weinstein Repeals and reenacts the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act; repealer.
- 10. Chapter 387 of the Laws of 2015 S.5691 Bonacic/A.7637 Seawright Relates to spousal maintenance and child support in Supreme and Family court.
- 11. Chapter 237 of the Laws of 2015 S.5833 Bonacic/A.8083 Weinstein Relates to the use of electronic means for the commencement and filing of papers in certain actions and proceedings.

# Bills Reported by Judiciary Committee that were Vetoed by the Governor in 2015

### Bills Reported by Judiciary Committee that were Enacted into Law Through Ballot Proposals in 2015

None.

#### **2015 Judicial Confirmations**

On Monday, February 09, 2015, the Senate Judiciary Committee met and approved the nominations of the following judges to serve as a Judge of the Court of Appeals for a term commencing February 9<sup>th</sup>, 2015 and expiring February 8<sup>th</sup>, 2029.

Judge Leslie Stein Judge Eugene Fahey

On Wednesday, March 17, 2015 the Senate Judiciary Committee met and approved the nominations of the following judges to serve on the Court of Claims:

Gerald W. Connolly, Jr. Daniel P. Conviser Matthew J. D'Emic Walter Books DeBow Vincent M. DelGiudice Jeffrey A. Goodstein Richard C. Kloch, Sr. Lawrence K. Marks

Christopher J. McCarthy Kimberly A. O'Connor Richard M. Platkin Stephen J. Rooney Catherine C. Schaewe Timothy J. Walker Henry F. Zwack

On Wednesday, March 24, 2015 the Senate Judiciary Committee met and approved the nominations of the following judges to serve on the Court of Claims:

Antonio I. Brandveen
Fernando M. Camacho
Gregory Carro
Margaret L. Clancy
Mark R. Dwyer
Elizabeth A. Foley
Marcia P. Hirsch
Rene Forgensi Minarik
Cassandra M. Mullen
Juanita Bing Newton
Dineen Ann Riviezzo
Faviola A. Soto

On Wednesday, May 5, 2015 the Senate Judiciary Committee met and approved the nominations of the following judges to serve on the Court of Claims:

Katherine Bartlett

Ellen Biben

Mark Grisanti

Denise Hartman

Alan Honorof

Alex Jeong

Cheryl Joseph

**Daniel Martin** 

Debra Martin

Margaret McGowan

Barry Ostrager

Jeanette Rodriquez-Morick
J. David Sampson
Robert Schwartz

## On Wednesday, June 17, 2015 the Senate Judiciary Committee met and approved the nominations of the following judges to:

#### **Court of Claims**

Russell P. Buscaglia
Francis T. Collins
Richard A. Dollinger
Diane L. Fitzpatrick
Richard Ira Horowitz
Michael E. Hudson
Jill H. Konviser-Levine
Alan C. Marin
Glenn A. Murphy
Thomas H. Scuccimarra

#### **Interim Supreme Court**

Michael Alan Gross
O. Peter Sherwood
Terry Jane Ruderman

In summary, 56 judges were presented to the Senate Judiciary Committee and sent to the Senate floor for confirmation. This included 2 Court of Appeals Judges, 3 Interim Supreme Court Judges and 51 Court of Claims Judges.